Tartan Today has Moved: Please Click Here
Home » Features

2012 Upper School Awards

31 May 2012 admin 3,286 views No Comment Email This Post Email This Post Print This Post Print This Post

On May 25, St. Margaret’s Upper School students and faculty gathered in the Pasternack Field House for the 2012 Upper School Awards Ceremony. This ceremony recognizes the exemplary academic work Upper School students have done throughout the school year and honors students for their outstanding work beyond the classroom as well as their contribution to the life of the school.

Ten juniors were honored with College Book Awards, which are defined by the personal and academic qualities connected to the participating colleges. Seniors were also recognized with more than 20 awards, which included five State Scholar-Athlete Awards, 11 Departmental Honors and nine senior plaques that include their names etched on perpetual plaques in the Upper School.

Tony Jordan, Upper School principal, opened with a warm welcome to all the students, parents and faculty in attendance thanking the Class of 2012 for their leadership, hard work, relentless pursuit of excellence and care for their school community, as well as the exceptional faculty for leading our students.

Headmaster Marcus D. Hurlbut also acknowledged that, “More than a simple calculation of grade point average, these awards are the end result of a process of thoughtful evaluation and reflection that acknowledges at the very highest level what we stand for as a school.” He also encouraged everyone to think about awards that aren’t ever officially given out at ceremonies and urged these awards be given to friends, teachers, colleagues and parents who are so deserving of public recognition for their honorable acts.

Awards were given to both juniors and seniors who showed high academic distinction, outstanding leadership, high character, extracurricular involvement and exceptional athletic ability. Ceremony highlights included the national anthem performed by junior Melisa Osborne, the Invocation and Benediction by The Reverend James Livingston, a warm acknowledgement to 90 Admission Ambassadors by Director of Admission and Financial Aid Phoebe Larson, a grateful recognition to the Associated Student Body by Director of Community Life Lora Allison, an Honor Committee recognition by Assistant Principal Ryan Dahlem and a recognition of the Peer Counselors by School Counselor Janice Avalone.

Please congratulate our students; the complete list of winners is below.

Junior College Book Awards

The Harvard Book Prize – Recipient: Emily Venable. This book is awarded to a student who best combines scholastic ability, high character and extracurricular involvement.

The Middlebury Book – Recipient: Ellie Schwartz. This book is awarded to an exceptional student who has shown remarkable commitment in environmental studies.

The University of Pennsylvania Book – Recipient: Robert Deng. This book is awarded to a junior who ranks top of the class and best exemplifies the qualities and characteristics of Benjamin Franklin—a scholar, innovator and server of the community.

The Princeton Book – Recipient: Brandon Price. This book is awarded to a junior who exhibits intellectual promise, academic excellence and outstanding personal character.

The Randolph College Book – Recipient: Katherine Wechsler. This book is awarded to a junior accomplished in classics and who is interested in pursuing classics while in college.

The Rennsalear Polytechnic Institute (RPI) Medal – Recipient: David Freed. This is awarded to a junior who excels in advanced math and science and exhibits a well-rounded involvement in the community.

The Smith College Book – Recipient: Madisen Clanton. This book is awarded to a junior girl who ranks in the top of the class and exemplifies academic achievement, leadership qualities and concern for others.

The Williams College Book – Recipient: N. Harrison White. This book is awarded to a junior who has demonstrated intellectual leadership and has made a significant contribution to the extracurricular life of the school.

The Yale Book – Recipient: Victoria Lee. This book is awarded to a junior who has demonstrated outstanding personal character and intellectual promise.

Dominic Ondryas Memorial Award – Recipient: Justin Ren. Awarded to the junior who has exercised leadership during their years at St. Margaret’s and who has shown a willingness to improve the community and world by leading others through personal example.

Special Athletic Award

The State Scholar-Athlete Awards – Recipients: Natalie Barbaresi, Katherine Donahue, Matthew Duenes, Jacob Garrett and Michael Kushner. Awarded to seniors who maintained a 3.70 unweighted cumulative GPA and excelled in athletics, earning all C.I.F. distinction. Awards for Athletes of the Year were also awarded to Billy Gaudreau and Jennifer Tedori.

Senior Awards – Departmental Honors

A Departmental Book was awarded to the seniors who achieved excellence in each academic discipline listed below, selected by the members of each department.

English – Natalie Barbaresi

Chinese – Heather Hughes

French – Jessica Bissontz

Japanese – Matthew Miyamoto

Latin – Abigail Nemeth

Spanish – Mary Ahearn

History – George Clemmons

Mathematics – Ted Ko

Science – Barrett Travis

Performing Arts – Maxwell Monahan

Visual Arts – Esmeralda Chaidez

The Founder’s Award – Recipient: Ted Ko. Awarded to the senior who maintained the highest grade point average in the class and is selected this year’s Valedictorian.

Salutatorian Award – Recipient: Barrett Travis. Awarded to the senior who maintained the second-highest grade point average in the class.

The Bishop’s Award – Recipient: Christopher Bauer. Awarded to the senior who has set an example of overall achievement, combining an excellent academic record with exemplary service to the school.

The Board of Trustees’ Award – Recipient: Ramon Arriaga. Awarded to the senior who has attended St. Margaret’s for at least two years, has grown the most both as a person and as a student and has taken advantage of many opportunities for involvement.

St. Margaret’s Award – Recipient: Saba Saghafi. Awarded to the senior whose academic work was distinguished by the love of scholarship and who, by example, contributed most to the academic morale of the school.

PTF Service Award – Recipient: Meaghan Hurr. Awarded to the senior whose leadership embodies the spirit of selflessness through commitment and involvement.

Faculty Achievement Award – Recipient: Fabiola Hernandez. Awarded to the senior who has maintained high academic standards through an exceptional combination of achievement, resilience and perseverance.

Faculty Plate – Recipient: George Clemmons. Awarded to the senior who has made the most of their St. Margaret’s experience and clearly manifests the Latin inscription on the award plate, suo marte or “by one’s own prowess.”

Principal’s Cup – Recipient: Ekaterini (Katie) Kontoulis. Awarded to the senior who has grown to exemplify the ideals of Honor, Diligence and Decency. This senior questioned the application and meaning of these ideals in his involvement at St. Margaret’s, as a student and leader, and has made this school a better place by living life courageously, consistently and compassionately.

Congratulations to all Upper School Award winners!


Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.